Gclient Managed Mode
Managed mode is a deprecated feature of gclient. It was conceived to give an easier workflow for newcomers to git, but turned out to be full of surprising behaviors. It has thus been deprecated, unmanaged mode is the default, and existing users of managed mode are encouraged to change to unmanaged mode.
To check which mode you are using, check .gclient (the gclient config file) and see the value of the "managed" flag. To switch to unmanaged mode from managed mode:
- edit your .gclient and set: "managed": False,
- update your repository by using git pull (as described above), followed by gclient sync, rather than just gclient sync.
To make the Blink repo also unmanaged, first fetch blink and then:
- edit your .gclient and set:
"managed": False,
"custom_deps": {
"src/
third_party/ WebKit": None, }, - update your repository by using git pull in Chromium, then git pull in Blink (as described above), followed by gclient sync, rather than just gclient sync.
Reference
The main difference between managed mode and unmanaged mode is that in managed
mode, local branches track local master branch instead of origin/
What's missing
- Safesync is not supported for new managed git checkouts yet
(https://crbug.com/
109191 ).